Drip Beef, Two Ways | The Pioneer Woman Cooks | Ree Drummond

Drip Beef, Two Ways | The Pioneer Woman Cooks | Ree Drummond

I’m continuing my results with the recipes for this weeks menu that I listed in this previous post.  Last night’s supper was the Drip Beef Sandwich recipe listed above, along with these homemade deli rolls.

I mentioned in my menu plan that I was on the lookout for new crock pot recipes, so I decided to adapt this one for my crock pot — also, I don’t own a dutch oven as the recipe lists.

Adjustments I made:

  1. Used crock pot instead of Dutch oven.
  2. Only used 2 lb meat (I’m only cooking for 2).
  3. Cut some of the measurements to “scant” portions since I was using less meat.  The soy sauce (I used the second recipe) was very scant, I didn’t even have half a cup, so I added a little more Italian seasoning to help with the flavor.
  4. I substituted sherry for Brandy, because Brandy was what I already had on hand.
  5. Improvised on the directions to work with a crock pot:  I sautéed the onions and garlic in the butter, when the onions were browned (per the directions) I added the Brandy.  I heated that thoroughly and transferred to the crockpot.  I stabbed the meat all over with a knife, then placed in the crockpot with everything from the skillet.  Then I added the spices and water.  Before serving, I removed the meat from the pot and placed the juices in bowls for dipping the sandwiches into.

Verdict:  This was great!  I added a little extra salt at the end and I think if I had used more soy sauce (as the recipe calls for) it might’ve been a little more flavorful, but it was still pretty awesome.

Here’s the original recipe and directions, for your convenience:

Ingredients

  • 1 whole 2.5 To 4 Pound Chuck Roast
  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1 whole Large Onion, Sliced Thick
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Peeled
  • 1/2 cup Soy Sauce
  • 1 cup Sherry (cooking Sherry Is Fine)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 4 cups Water
  •  Toasted, Buttered Deli Rolls
  •  Rosemary, Thyme, Other Spices (optional)

Preparation Instructions

Heat butter in a heavy pot over medium-high heat. Saute the onions for a couple of minutes, or until starting to get brown.

Set chuck roast on top of the onions. Add all remaining ingredients. Cover pot and simmer (very low heat) on the stove for 6 hours, or until beef is fork-tender and falling apart. **If meat is not yet tender, return to oven for 30 minute intervals till it’s tender!** Shred meat with two forks until all large chunks are gone. Serve immediately or continue to simmer for 30 minutes to 1 hour.

*Mixture can be refrigerated overnight. Remove hardened fat from top of pan before reheating.

Serve on top of toasted, buttered deli rolls. Top with cheese and place under the broiler if desired.

Leave a Reply

